Workshops

October 29 – November 1, 2021, Barcelona, Spain

Bountiful- Botanical Art Workshop

I am very happy to announce details of my upcoming in person workshop to be held in Barcelona at the end of October. 

Join me in our spacious studio in the art and design district of El Poblenou, Barcelona to paint the warm rich colours of the flowers and fruit of a bountiful autumn.


Course Outline

We will spend from 9 am to 3.30 pm each day learning, practicing and applying the skills required to make a botanical watercolour painting. 

  • Observational, measured drawing and composition to bring movement and life to your painting.

  • Exploring the nuances of colour

  • Watercolour painting with wet and dry and everything in between painting techniques

  • Reflect on the personal process of your painting, to further enrich your learning experience.

By the time you leave you will have enhanced your skills and will have new confidence in moving your botanical painting to new levels of competence. 


Laura Alonso is the person to contact at our base in Barcelona. She will be happy to fill you in with all the details required to register. 

Laura Alonso: lauraalonso27@gmail.com

http://www.arte-botanico.com

Following registration Laura will send you a simple list of required materials. Before the workshop, Laura will send you detailed workshop notes available in English and in Spanish along with other supporting documents to help you prepare for your visit to Barcelona. 

September 12- 18, 2021, Evia, Greece

Flowers and fruit from a Mediterranean Garden.

Enquiries: Mary Dillon – marydillonbotanicalart@gmail.com

Online Workshops

Workshop 1.     Wild and Garden Blooms.    June 2, 3, 2021.                                     

Workshop 2.   A Summer Garden.      June 24, 25, 2021

Demonstrations will include:

  • observational drawing

  • colour mixing and matching, 

  • capturing light and shade, 

  • layering of colours, 

  • painting fine detail

  • finishing with a WOW! 

To make the experience as stress free as possible, I will provide an image and a line drawing of a simple flower or plant subject for anyone who wishes to use it. For those who choose to draw their own subject, I’ll suggest a simple subject, – wild poppy / petunia. Students will have time to do some observational drawing in the class. 

The workshops will happen over two days – 5 hours per day. 

Workshop 1. 

June 2, 3, 2021 

1 pm  – 6 pm, GMT, ( 9 am – 2 pm, EST, and 6 am – 11 am PDT)

Cost €140

To Register: Please email me: marydillonbotanicalart@gmail.com

Workshop 2.

June 24, 25, 2021 

3 pm  – 8 pm, GMT, ( 11 am – 4 pm, EST, and 8 am – 1 pm PDT)

Cost €140

To Register: Please email me: marydillonbotanicalart@gmail.com

The following will be included:

  • Course outline with objectives

  • Course notes

  • Materials list

  • Colour list and image for palette layout

  • Image and line drawing of plant

  • Template for watercolour layering

  • Slideshow presentations

  • Video demonstrations

  • Live demonstrations

  • Feedback will be available throughout by email.

Mary Dillon

www.marydillonbotanicalart.com

Instagram: @marydillonartist

I’m happy to discuss with you any individual or group workshop requirements.

Workshops can be based in Ireland or anywhere in the world. I’m happy to travel to where you are to share the joy of botanical art through reflective art practice.

As an art educator with many years experience, teaching botanical art brings together my three passions of painting, plants and working with people.

 

Further Updates for Workshops in 2021 will follow.

Enquiries:

For personalised individual or group workshops please contact me by email.

marydillonbotanicalart@gmail.com

IMG_0006